Letters In a Vase

‘This January, why not start the year with an empty jar and fill it with notes about good things that happen. Then, on New Years Eve, empty it and see what awesome stuff happened that year’.

As soon as I saw this, I said I wanted to try it.

But that was at least three years ago and I never got round to it. December 2014 came and I decided that it had to be done, especially with a new season brewing. I’ve found that time goes faster as you get older, the years seem to merge into one and it’s so easy to let the little things pass by.

In terms of documenting things, sometimes writing a two page account of something that happened can be long. Sometimes you just want to bottom line it. I loved that the jar provided a quick and creative alternative to documenting what happened in a year, so I tweaked it a bit.

My jar was filled with notes about great things that happened that year (orange paper), things I’m grateful for (pink paper) and things I learned (yellow paper).

image2.JPG

image3.JPG

You can probably tell from the amount of yellow Post-its that I learnt a lot this year. (See ‘Looking Back and Looking Forward‘ for a few more details). I’m grateful for the lessons despite how hard some of them were. As mentioned in my last post, I have found that often, you already knew what you’ve come to know, it just needed to be put into perspective.

Before I go, I’d like to encourage you to do this this year. I know it’s February but it’s never too late right? You might find that it helps you to keep track of the little things as well as the big things. I hope that we all take time to appreciate the small things that we take for granted and make  2K16 so much better than the last.

Leave a Reply

