Grateful

Hello again. I hope everything is going well with you, if not, I hope that things get better.

I watched a video about a young lady who was severely burned with hot oil as a child. Of course, the video pulled on my heartstrings, but I seemed to find comfort in the fact that she had come so far. Comfort in the fact that she was grateful despite all that had happened to her. I really admired her strength and her courage and the fact that through it all, she was humble. I love that her healing process, which brought her to where she is now, enabled her to appreciate that despite what happened, there are so many others in the world that have it a lot worse. I was so humbled and her video made me think about how important it is to be grateful and to truly appreciate what we have. Why is it that humans always want more? Why do we want what we don’t have? Why are our blessings, no matter how big or small, not good enough? Better yet, why aren’t we always grateful?

I look at what I have and what God has blessed me with and I have no choice but to be grateful. Life has been painful at times, I won’t lie, but I’m making it. With family that love and support me, with great friends, eyes to see, ears to hear, a nose to smell, a mouth to taste, arms to move, legs to walk and hands to touch, I am making it. I pray that I never take for granted what I have been given, no matter how big or small. I pray that I am always grateful.

With that being said, I want to do something different. For a set amount of days, I’ll reflect on what I’ve been blessed with/ what I’m grateful for and pass it on.

For example, I’m grateful for food so that day I’ll buy lunch for someone who doesn’t have any.

I’ll have to plan this properly and keep you guys posted.

Love always

Rebekah

2 thoughts on “Grateful

Leave a comment