A Leap of Faith

Hi all! I hope all is well and you’ve had a good week. I apologise for the late upload, so without further ado, happy reading…

For those of you who don’t know, I was in university before, but I withdrew at the end of December 2014, check out ‘Letting Go and Leaving Uni’ for a few more details. A year and three months later, for the second time round I’m in the position I was in January 2013. I’ve finally applied for university and there’s no going back. I’m not quite sure if I’d class this as an adventure, but I will say it will mark the beginning of a new chapter if I’m successful. Some might ask why I’m bothering to go back, there are definitely some people I know that thing I’m crazy for going back- especially after my last experience, but there are also some people that are proud of me for going back. I stand with the latter. I’m proud of myself for taking the first step and for taking the time to ensure that this was really what I wanted, but also for getting this far. It has been a whirlwind of a journey.

Before studying for my Fashion related degree, I did an Art and Design Foundation, which was by far, the best form of education I’ve ever done. When it came to applying for Higher Education, I decided to apply for Fashion Design. I applied to five different universities. The process was long, preparing and tweaking my portfolio between interviews, hoping that I’d be successful. Time passed and I found myself having to come to terms with being rejected from all five of my university choices. I knew it would be hard, I knew it would be time consuming, I knew it would be energy draining. But facing the reality of being rejected consecutively, weighed heavy on me because I felt that my best wasn’t good enough. Somewhere along the line, I realised that what I thought I wanted for so many years, wasn’t actually what I wanted.

I didn’t really want to let my tutors know that I’d been unsuccessful, but two of my tutors asked me one day, how the university process was going. I’m not one for lying so I told them. They gave me some options and we discussed them. It’s funny looking back and thinking about how concerned I was, how I didn’t consider how many people were or had been in the exact same position. Better yet, how I didn’t see that despite the journey being far from smooth, things would work out and I’d be here over three years later.

So anyway, they suggested a year out and I explained that I really didn’t want to take another year out. I told them that I was interested in working with young people and families but I didn’t have enough experience. We left it for a while so I could think about where to go from there. Some time passed and my tutor (who was absolutely incredible, and who I have so much love for) had a look at my portfolio. We talked about a lot of things, including whether this was the right route for me. As we looked through together and talked, she stopped and said: ‘There’s this course that I think would be really good for you’. She told me what it was called and I looked into it further. I took her up on her offer, and she had a word with the uni as the application stage had passed. A few weeks later, she handed me a print out of an email she’d received. I’d been given an unconditional offer and I was so, so ecstatic. God had made a way.

It seems that I’ve taken a few leaps of faith over the years and here I am again taking another one. I’m proud of myself for always trying and never choosing the easy route. I really, really hope this works out but I trust in God’s plan and understand that His will is better than mine.

I know I’m taking forever, but all of this to say:

  1. Never get tired of trying
  2. Don’t give up on what you want
  3. Try, try and try again. It’s comforting knowing that you gave something your all. That way, if it doesn’t work out, you know it wasn’t meant to be
  4. Things work out, even though it doesn’t seem like it
  5. Things work out, majority of the time, it’s not how we planned them to, but they still work out
  6. The first leap of faith brought me here, and here I stand, stronger and certain of what I want. I’m a better person because of it
  7. With most things, you’ll look back and realise what you thought was the end of the world, really wasn’t
  8. Always trust in God
  9. You’ll be alright.

I truly am so grateful for everything that has happened. I wouldn’t change a thing for the world and I stand in awe of where I am and the person I have become because of my journey. I won’t give up and I hope you don’t give up on yourself or your dreams and goals either.

They don’t call it a leap of faith for nothing, right?

Until Thursday

Love and best wishes

Rebekah

One thought on “A Leap of Faith

Leave a Reply

