Waiting for Tomorrow

I’ve been thinking about time. And how scary it is when you realise time is slipping away and there’s nothing that can be done about it. I look at life and see how fast the days go by. Will there ever be enough time? The days that turn into weeks, the weeks that turn into months and the months that turn into years. Time is a difficult concept to grasp sometimes, despite the fact that our lives are measured by it. We have appointments to keep, days to look forward to, things we hope to achieve before a certain age, the list goes on. I hate that things are moving so fast and there’s nothing I can do about it. I’m thinking about where I am now and how long it’ll take me to get to where I want/ need to be, considering how fast time is going. Next week it’ll be April. Before we know it, summer will be over and we’ll be rushing to buy Christmas presents again. The cycle continues.

But as usual, I don’t want us to dwell too much on the negatives, but take the opportunity to look at the positives. There’s nothing we can do about time and there’s no way to get more time, but we can make the most of the time we do have. Over the years I’ve found that we always look forward to something, or there’s always something we can’t wait for. When we’re young, we can’t wait to be adults, we get a bit older and we can’t wait till summer, graduation, marriage- the possibilities are endless. It’s lovely having things to look forward to, but how about looking forward to the small pleasures that make up every single day? I find that if you’re constantly waiting for tomorrow, you waste your life waiting for things to happen, not seizing the opportunities that are available now, the time we have now. I want to live my life so vibrantly, I want a story that inspires, a story made up of lots and lots of little stories. The time is now.

I’d like each day to have purpose, each day to stand out on its own, not for each day to run into one long day. I’m going to try and make this happen, because I don’t want to get lost in my routine and wonder where all the years went. I hope that setting smaller goals each day leads me closer to achieving my bigger goals, but also, that I become more disciplined and I waste less time and grab hold of the many opportunities that may arise each day.

So, my prayer for you today is this: That you never get too bogged down with the idea of time, but instead take the opportunities to make the most of it. Also, that you charge at life with everything in you, never growing tired or giving up on what you want.

Much love always

Rebekah

One thought on “Waiting for Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

