Starting Over

Part of Overcoming Fear and Feelings of Failure is starting over. In this instance, in order to fully close the door and leave university behind (along with a few other things), I had to first overcome so that the next door could be opened without fear, but with peace, happiness and confidence.

There are some really great things about starting over- I love that most of the time, it can be whatever you want it to be. In other words, it can be as ‘small’ as starting a new job or as big as deciding to terminate a relationship, move to a different country or leave something that was a major part of your life behind. On some occasions we start over because we want to, but sometimes we start over because we have to. Either way, I’ve found that once you’ve opened the new door, and you’ve started to find your feet, it’s quite satisfying knowing that you’re at the beginning of something new. You find comfort in the fact that everything is going to be alright, and you can start afresh having overcome whatever it was that you had to overcome in order to touch that golden doorknob.

I understand that starting over can also be a very frustrating process- especially if you’re starting from scratch. I remember when I just left uni and I had to figure out what exactly I was gonna do next- what I was gonna do with my life. I got a massive piece of paper and brainstormed, I had so many plans but as the months flew past, I soon realised that it was a lot harder than I thought and it wasn’t quite going to work that way.

Having to start over taught me a few things. Allow me to share some of them:

  1. It sometimes takes a while to find your feet. Don’t be afraid to take some time to figure out your next steps/ what you really want to do.
  2. Having a plan makes you feel better- Things don’t feel so scattered.
  3. Contrary to point two, you’ll eventually see/ accept that things won’t go to plan…
  4. But things work out better than you thought…
  5. And once you’ve found your feet, you’ll see that the good really did outweigh the bad.
  6. Patience is a virtue and you might find yourself waiting (a lot) when starting over.
  7. To never give up and to keep pushing through the darker days.
  8. To stand by my decision and trust in the fact that I knew it was the right thing, even though doubts crept up in the darker days.

As usual, I hope that I’ve encouraged you in some way. This week, I’m praying for those who are starting over, be it because they have to or because they have chosen to, whether the door that is closing (or the door that has just closed) is big or ‘small’. I pray that you find strength in this season and you stand by your decision. If you’re starting over because you’ve chosen to put yourself first and do what is best for you, I applaud you. Putting yourself first is often difficult. I pray that you find your feet and you will be blessed in this process of renewal.

Love and blessings

Rebekah

 

 

Leave a Reply

