Making A Change: Young Progress Makers (1/2)

Generally speaking, as human beings we often do this thing where we become inspired and we vow to change our lives, our goals, our way of living based on whatever it is we heard that inspired us. The problem is that often, we think about changing and we think about the things we want to do, but we rarely implement that change. We become inspired, we say (we don’t do) and then somehow we find ourselves doing exactly what we were doing before; somewhere along the line that word, that picture, that person who inspired us gets lost and we resort back to our everyday lives.

As harsh as it may sound, I’ve found that there are many of us out here that want change. We want to see that change, be that change, but we don’t know how to change. We don’t know where to start and we don’t know how to take that first step- we struggle to get from A to B. I believe that change goes hand in hand with conquering and overcoming fear; accepting that I may fail but it’s ok because this is a journey and there is absolutely no harm in standing up, dusting myself off and starting again.

I was privileged enough to attend an event yesterday presented by The Evening Standard and Roundhouse called Young Progress Makers. You can read a bit more about it here, but the event was for young people in London wanting to make a change. Through speaking and various performances, the aim was to inspire young people to go out and make a difference for this generation and the generations to come. Topics discussed ranged from ‘The Power of the Personal Brand’, ‘We are the Change Makers’ and ‘How to Create Social Change’.

Yesterday was a reminder that we have so much power, and we can evoke change for ourselves and for our society. Also, that there’s no such thing as ‘too young’- age can and never will be a restriction. I was inspired to put my mark on the world and encouraged to accept that this is my time and I can be and do whatever the hell I want to be and do. I’m inspired to work towards my goals, influencing and changing the game along the way.

From this event, I will take away the importance of finding like- minded people, who are interested in the same things as me. I’ll also take away the fact that it’s easy to cause a ruckus, it’s easy to be noticed and it’s easy to be heard, I just have to put myself out there.

We tend to live in our own bubbles, so distant and unaware of what goes on just outside our doorsteps. London is a phenomenal city and there are so many young people who have and will continue to make a change. It’s now my turn to change the game but it’s also your turn and just like me and so many others, you can be and do whatever it is you want to be and do.

I’ll end with this: Anything is possible, you just have to keep pushing, keep working hard and overcome the fear of falling and failing. I’m gonna make sure that this time is different and I hope you do the same. I don’t want to be inspired, say I’ll make a change and end up where I was yesterday, doing the same things I was doing yesterday. This spark in me, I’m going to try and ignite, I’m gonna make sure that this spark turns into a flame and the flame a fire, because life is way too short for ‘what if’s’ and being inspired once but never building on it. So watch this space because a change is gonna come. It may take a day, a year or five years, but a change is definitely gonna come.

‘Risk the fall to know how it feels to fly’- Alicia Keys.

Until next week

Love, light and blessings

Rebekah

One thought on “Making A Change: Young Progress Makers (1/2)

Leave a comment