Interesting Conversations

One thing I love about conversation is that it takes you on a journey. Often, a conversation starts off in one place and it ends somewhere completely different, completely unexpected.

This week at uni, some of the ladies and I somehow got sidetracked. We spoke about romantic relationships, being single, our individual views on marriage, and lessons learnt from previous relationships that didn’t end too well or that didn’t end the way they thought they would.

One of the women spoke about how being in a relationship when she was 19, with someone she thought she’d spend the rest of her life with, had an impact on her as a person. She told us about how naïve she had been. Sometimes people show us who they are and we refuse to believe them, we pretend we can’t see and then we wonder why things go wrong or why people behave the way they behave, why people hurt the ones they say they love. But these times, they’ve already shown us who they are. We asked her if she would change her experience knowing what she knows now. She said no, but she gently reminded us of the importance of loving yourself, finding comfort within and being content/ not relying on a man (or anyone) to fulfil your needs. Relationships are hard already and the stress that comes with not knowing yourself, what you want, not knowing your boundaries and looking to be made complete in a relationship/ by a man is really not worth it.

The conversation was lovely; it was nice to sit back and listen to other people’s stories and watch them reflect on how far they’ve come.

In light of some of the things we discussed, I started thinking about who I am and what I love about myself, what I hope will never change. I wanted to share some of these things with you in the hopes that it inspires you to get to know you, to think about what you love about yourself and to encourage you to be comfortable in your skin. In the words of Shameless Maya: ‘Do you, be you, stay true boo!’ So without further ado, here are ten things I love about myself:

  1. I am who I am, through Christ Jesus
  2. I am covered by His Grace, by His love, by His mercy
  3. I am incredibly hard working and I give my all in everything that I do
  4. I’m perseverant
  5. My heart is kind/ I am caring
  6. My happiness is unconditional/ I’m always happy
  7. I’m a nerd at heart and wouldn’t change it for the world
  8. I’ll always be there for people
  9. I’m reflective
  10. I have and will continue to overcome.

 

Here’s to basking in our good qualities and working on our bad.

Shine your light always.

Until next week

Rebekah

Leave a Reply

