Postgraduate Struggles

Hey family, I hope this meets you well.

If you read my last post, Short Term Sacrifices, Long Term Gain, you’ll know that I have had some difficulties obtaining certain positions as I am not a fully qualified (JNC) youth worker.

Having progressed quite quickly within my field, the importance of holding this qualification became even more apparent. Since transitioning into my field full time, I knew this was something I needed to obtain. For me, there was suddenly this great sense of urgency as a JNC qualification would: open more doors for progression into managerial roles, provide more financial stability, permit respect as a professional, from other professionals in the field, solidify and prove my skill set and capabilities, and be one less reason why someone couldn’t hire me within my chosen field.

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, most things are about perspective; here I am studying at Master’s level to get fully qualified and although I am grateful for the opportunity and so respectful of what holding a JNC qualification means, I’d be lying if I said that the road has not been difficult.

I guess the Short Term Sacrifices, Long Term Gain saga continues. Someone recently told me that: ‘they don’t call it a Master’s for no reason’, and if I thought I knew what he meant then, I sure as heck know what he means now.

I’ve struggled with life as a Postgraduate student and six months in, the journey isn’t getting any easier. But despite virtual learning, personal underestimations and expectations, I have to remember why I am here and remember the value in becoming fully accredited in a field that I love and believe in so much. I hope that this will be the right step into making the positive societal change that I so long to make. No matter how difficult.

Shine your light always

R x

Leave a comment